The Joint Advisory Committee (JAC)

A Joint Advisory Committee (JAC) has overseen the Wye Valley AONB since 1972. Unlike a National Park Authority, the JAC is not a planning authority. The role of the Joint Advisory Committee is one of advising and guiding the statutory authorities regarding issues within the AONB. The JAC has, for many years, been a strong partnership, its constitution and membership reflecting the cross-border nature of the AONB. The committee meets formally three times a year, usually in early March, July and November in the Forest of Dean District Council Chamber in Coleford. Agendas & Minutes are available here.

The JAC formally endorses the statutory Management Plan for the AONB every five years and it oversees the delivery of the Plan and the AONB Unit Business Plan. The JAC is supported by a Technical Officers Working Party, AONB Steering Group and the AONB Unit. This governance structure offers the benefits of local accountability through elected members and access to specialists, with both local and national knowledge, supported by dedicated professional staff. Monmouthshire County Council provides the Clerk to the JAC.

JAC Members

Local Authorities (voting)  

  • Forest of Dean District Council (2 councillors)
  • Gloucestershire County Council (2 councillors)
  • Herefordshire Council (4 councillors)
  • Monmouthshire County Council (4 councillors)

Co-opted (voting)    

  • Country Land & Business Association
  • National Farmers Union
  • 3 representatives of county voluntary conservation sectors, for
    • Gloucestershire,
    • Herefordshire &
    • Monmouthshire
  • 3 representatives of County Associations for Parish/Town/Community Councils, being
    • Gloucestershire Association of Town & Parish Councils (GATPC)
    • Herefordshire Association of Local Councils (HALC) &
    • One Voice Wales

Co-opted (non-voting)        

  • local Wildlife Trusts, currently represented by Herefordshire Wildlife Trust
  • Wye Valley Society,
  • River Wye Preservation Trust,
  • Recreation interests representative
  • Tourism interests representative, currently from Wye Valley & Forest of Dean Tourism Association

Officers in attendance &/or in the Technical Officers Working Party (TOWP)


Environment Agency

Forest of Dean District Council

Forestry Commission

Forestry England

Gloucestershire County Council   

Herefordshire Council       

Historic England     

Monmouthshire County Council

Natural England

Natural Resources Wales

Wye Valley AONB Unit       


Next JAC Meeting Dates

2pm Monday 6th November 2023 (venue: Coleford*)

2pm Monday 4th March 2024 (venue: Coleford*)

2pm Monday 1st July 2024 (venue: Coleford*)

2pm Monday 4th November 2024 (venue: Coleford*)

* venue: Council Chamber, Forest of Dean District Council, Coleford  GL16 8HG

JAC meetings are usually held on the first Monday of March, July & November at 2pm

JAC Meeting Minutes & Agenda

In this section